Junior Faculty Workshop


Junior Faculty Consortium Co-Chairs

Ang Koch
Soon Ang
Nanyang Technological
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Hope Koch
Baylor University
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Faculty Mentors

Ritu Agarwal, University of Maryland, Editor ISR
Izak Benbasat, University of British Columbia
Dianne Cyr, Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada
Chris Forman, Georgia Institute of Technology, Editor Management Science
Paulo B. Goes, University of Arizona, Editor MIS Quarterly
Matthew Jensen, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma
Eleanor Lociano, Worchester Polytechnic Institute, Worchester, MA
David Preston, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, TX
Suprateek Sarker, University of Virginia, Editor JAIS
Susan Scott, London School of Economics
Juliana Sutanto, ETH-Zurich, Switzerland
Bernard Tan, National University of Singapore
Eileen Trauth, Penn State, State College PA
Robert Winter, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Vladimir Zwass, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Editor JMIS


Consortium Activities

We invite all IS Junior Faculty to apply to participate in the Junior Faculty Consortium. This will take place on Sunday, December 13, 2015 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m at the conference hotel: Omni Fort Worth Hotel, Sundance Room.

The Junior Faculty Consortium consists of panels, discussions, and interactive sessions built around issues related to becoming a successful member of the professoriate. A select group of highly-successful IS faculty from universities around the world will lead each session. Each participant will have the opportunity to interact with a wide variety of both new and senior faculty and to share their experiences, thoughts, and concerns about developing a career in the academy.


Time Sunday, December 13, 8:30-4:30 pm,
Location Omni Fort Worth Hotel, Sundance Room
Goals for Participants

Build a network

Learn about gaining tenure and publishing in top journals

8:30am-9:00 am Registration and coffee

Welcome and introductions

Soon Ang, National University of Singapore

Hope Koch, Baylor University

Speed dating: Scavenger Hunt

Bring a small gift from your country or University that costs less than $10 for the ice breaker

10:00 -11:00 am

Panel: Meet the Journal Editors

Ritu Agarwal, Information Systems Research

Chris Forman, Management Science

Paulo Goes, MIS Quarterly

Suprateek Sarker, JAIS

Vladimir Zwass, Journal of Management Information Systems

11:00-11:30 Publishing and small group discussion with journal editors
11:30-1:00 pm


Keynote speaker: Detmar W. Straub, Jr. Former Editor of MIS Quarterly

J. Mack Robinson Distinguished Professor of Information Systems, Director of RCB Ph.D. Program   Computer Information Systems  


Panel: Gaining Tenure

Discuss the tenure process and how it differs in different countries and at different institutions

Dianne Cyr and Robert Winter

Discuss tenure and research, teaching, service/interpersonal relationships/politics

Matthew, Jensen; Eleanor Lociano; David, Preston; and Juliana Sutanto,

Discuss what you look for in a package and what candidates need to do to make themselves valuable

Eileen Trauth  

2:00-2:30 Tenure small group discussion
2:45-3:00 Wrap up and close
3:15-4:00 Team Building --optional walking tour of downtown Ft. Worth



Eligible faculty include all AIS members beginning their first four years in an academic position (including post-docs). The number of participants is limited in order to maintain the richness and intimacy of the experience.   The limit will be determined by the room capacity.

Registration Fee

A small fee of US$65 is charged for participation in the Junior Faculty Consortium in order to cover some of the costs for the facilities, lunch and coffee breaks. The fee is to be paid at the time of registration for ICIS (after your place in the Consortium has been confirmed.

If you are attending the Consortium, you are required to register for the ICIS conference.

Registration Details

You can apply to participate. We will accept registrations until October 1, 2015 or until the participation limit has been reached, whichever occurs first. We will process applications in the order received.